June has by far been my most productive month. I ended up reading a total of 6 books and 3496 pages, which is kind of amazing and a number that I don’t think I’ll be able to top page wise. I really enjoyed most of the books I read this month so this should be a pretty great update.

20348453I started out the month by reading The Green Mill Murder by Kerry Greenwood. This is the fifth book in the Phryne Fisher series and I really enjoyed reading it.

This book was a lot different then the other books in the series. Like the others it still covered two mysteries that were connected, but the connection between them wasn’t as strong as they were in other novels in the series. It kind of felt like you were reading two books. In fact, halfway through the novel I thought it was two books before I realised that it was all one. This book was also a lot more sad than the others in the series and Phryne did not pick up any more strays.

All in all a good read. I rated it a 7 out of 10. I recently ordered the next book in the series so I’ll hopefully get to it soon!

18143977Next I read All the Light We Cannot see by Anthony Doerr. This was kind of a 360 from a Phryne Fisher novel because it was about 5 times the length, had a completely different structure, and although both are historical fiction pieces they cover vastly different histories.

All the Light We Cannot see is set in France before and during the Nazi occupation. It follows two characters Marie-Laure, a blind French girl whose father works in a museum in Paris, and a German boy who likes electronics and radios name Werner.

This book is incredibly touching and really shows what the human spirit is. It also talks a lot about how Germans felt about the war which I found really interesting.

I rated this book a 9 out of 10. I really loved reading it and I think it will be a favourite of the year.

pandp-modern-library-ed1w200After that I read the bookclub pick for June, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. It is not secret that I am not an Austen fan by this point and I didn’t overly enjoy this book.

This novel follows the Bennet family who are a middle class British family. There are three main sisters that it focuses on, Elizabeth, Jane, and Lydia, as they forage forward trying to find suitable gentlemen for marriage. Needless to say that nothing works out how anyone plans and the story is really all about why you shouldn’t judge people off their first impressions. My favourite character was Mr. Bennet because he did not have time for any of these shenanigans, the same way I didn’t.

I rated this book a 5 out of 10. I didn’t really find it that enjoyable to read and I didn’t like the characters or a plot so it was a bit of a flop for me. I know a lot of people really love this book but I just don’t see the appeal.

Gabaldon-Voyager-220x332Then I read Voyager by Diana Gabaldon, the third book in the Outlander series. I was a little hesitant going into this book because although I loved the first book, Outlander, I was underwhelmed by Dragonfly in Amber and I really didn’t know what to think going in to this book. One of my friends, Gillian, really wanted me to read it so she could talk to me about it so I did and I wasn’t disappointed.

I really enjoyed the fact that there was a sea voyage and the new world. I think that the expansion and adventure of Claire’s world was necessary for the plot. I also really enjoyed the parts of the book that were taking place in the present this time and was really missing Brianna by the end of the novel.

I rated this book an 8 out of 10. I thought it was super fun and despite its size I read it quite quickly. If you’re an Outlander fan I would definitely recommend picking up this book.

BeautifulCreaturesNext I read my first Young Adult novel in a while, Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.

I thought that this was a really fun novel. I really loved the movies and had watched it multiple times before reading the book so there wasn’t too many surprised in it, but there were a lot of differences between the two that made the book a joy to read.

I rated this book a 6 out of 10. Though I thought it was fun there were some problematic parts of the novel and the writing wasn’t really the best. That being said I am really looking forward to reading the next novel in the Caster Chronicles, Beautiful Darkness, and will probably buy it shortly.

the-explorers-guild-9781476727400_hrFinally, I read A Passage to Shambhala by Jon Baird, Kevin Costner, and illustrated by Rick Ross. This was a book that I picked up because of its cover. It is an absolutely gorgeous book. It is part regular novel and part graphic novel, as well, so it was a very interesting read and quite quick.

It follows a secret society called The Explorers Guild during the First World War. There are lots of adventures and some nice twists and turns during the plot. What I really loved about the novel is that there wasn’t really a good-guy or a bad-guy but instead a lot of grey characters which gives it a fun feel because they are constantly questioning what is the moral thing to do instead of just having it thrust upon them.

I rated this novel  7 out of 10. It does say that it is the first volume so I’m really hoping that a second one actually appears because it was a really fun book. However, it might get turned into a television series which would be equally as fun.

So that was my June! What a month. You may have noticed that I did not get around to reading this month’s goal book The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan. This was one of the books that I was going to borrow from my father but I didn’t end up getting it until the beginning of August so its review is yet to come. Check out my youtube video before for more of my thoughts!

Leave a Reply

