BeautifulCreaturesI have had Beautiful Creatures sitting on my shelf since the movie first came out. Unlike most book-to-screen translations, which you know I am extremely fond of, I actually watched the movie (several times) before picking up the book. I actually went to see it in theatres with my Father and we both thought that it was a lovely concept and watch it most times it comes on tv.

Like any book-to-screen translation, there were significant differences between the movie and the book. Unlike most, I can’t decide which I liked most, but that is a discussion for another time.

This novel would be classified as a young-adult-paranormal-romance, I think. It follows two main characters, a boy named Ethan Wate and a girl, Lena Duchannes. Lena is a Caster, a type of witch, who is waiting to be Claimed by either the light or dark. Ethan is a guy who’s bad at taking no for an answer and falls in love with her anyways. They are linked through time, as well, which always adds an interesting element to the story.

IMG_2855

Although the book did not have the highest quality of writing, it was still highly enjoyable. The characters grew quite a bit over the course of the novel, which is what you would hope for as they are teens, and there was elements of mysteries throughout. There was also a deep element of spiritualism throughout the book and countless delicious sounding meals which I am always a fan of.

I rate this book a 6 out of 10. It’s not a ground breaking piece of YA, but the story is good and it’s a nice quick read despite the 500 page length. I’m looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

One thought on “Book 35 of 2017: Beautiful Creatures

Leave a Reply

