Outlander-blue-cover-198x300Firstly, because I haven’t put my review for Outlander on this blog I wanted to start off by talking about it for a bit. I bought it and Dragonfly in Amber several years ago in anticipation of television series. I didn’t read it until this past December, with two seasons already released. I really enjoyed it. I was a bit cautious going into it because many books that are popular I haven’t really enjoyed, but this book goes against that stereotype. I found the character’s compelling and the addition of time travel a nice surprise. I would, however, suggest not picking up Outlander when you can devote all your time to it because it will be all you want to do. I, however, started reading it during exam period which was a bad idea.

Unlike the first book, Dragonfly in Amber takes place in France instead of Scotland for the majority of the book. It’s first and last parts of the book takes place in the twentieth Gabaldon-Dragonfly-in-Amber-220x332century, which I often found harder to get into. Unraveling the mysteries of the past from the present doesn’t make for the same sort of story that romping around in eighteenth century.

One of the coolest things in the novel is the appearance of Hildegard, a character, at least to me, who was clearly based on Hildegard von Bingen. I thought her mentions of Bach were very cool as well, especially given that he is my brother’s favourite composer and is frequently played around my house.

As always, I endeavour not to give away any spoilers BUT THE ENDING WAS REALLY INTENSE.

I rated this book a 7 out of 10. Highly enjoyable yet light read. I’m looking forward to the next book in the series, Voyager.

2 thoughts on “Book 17 of 2017: Dragonfly in Amber

Leave a Reply

